FULL LIST: VP Osinbajo named chairman as Buhari sets up health sector reform committee

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the setting up of a health sector reform committee to commence the development and implementation of a health sector reform programme for Nigeria.

A statement by Garba Shehu, the senior special assistant to the president on media and publicity on Monday, September 6, said the programme would be carried out in collaboration with the state governments and the Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA).

The committee which will sit for six months will be chaired by the vice president, Yemi Osinbajo, with members drawn from private and public sector health care management professionals, development partners, representatives from the National Assembly as well as the Nigeria Governors Forum among others.

Shehu said the programme is a sequel to a Health Sector Diagnostic Review Report developed by a consultant, Vesta Healthcare Partners and the Federal Ministry of Health.

According to Shehu, the committee will undertake a review of all healthcare reforms adopted in the past two decades and lessons learnt and factor them into the development of the new Health Sector Reform Programme.

Other members of the health sector reform committee are the governor of Delta State, Ifeanyi Okowa; the minister of health, Osagie Ehanire; the director-general of the Bureau of Public Enterprise, Alex Okoh; Ibrahim Abubakar, a Professor in Infectious Disease Epidemiology at University College London and Director of the UCL Institute for Global Health; Babatunde Irukera, DG, Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Council; Senator( Dr) Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe; Dr Adedamola Dada; Dr Sani Aliyu; Dr Mairo Mandara; Dr Haliru Yahaya, Emir of Shonga; Professor Uche Amazigbo; Director Hospital Services, Federal Ministry of Health; Dr Faisal Shuaib; Prof Nasiru Sambo; Dr Ifedayo Morayo Adetifa and Dr Gambo Aliyu.

Other members of the committee are: Dr Betta Edu (Chairman Nigeria Health Commissioners Forum representing National Council on Health); President Nigeria Medical Association; President Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria; President National Association of Nigeria Nurses & Midwives; President Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria; Mrs Temi Marcella Awogboro; Dr Muhammad Sadiq; Dr Azubike Tagbo and World Health Organization, Nigeria.

Shehu also said that the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and the Vesta Healthcare Partners would play observer roles in the committee.

We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more